Hori EX2 button issues

I’ve heard complaints of the EX2 having button issues… does anyone know which parts of the button are prone to breaking? Is it the microswitch?

I just ordered a slightly used EX2 for light modding and heavy SF3 action. When I order an 8-way gate, I’d like to know if I should throw any more button-related parts (besides the 6 Sanwa OBSF 30mms) in my cart as well. Thanks for your help!

Remember that the 8-way is only going to go onto a Sanwa JLF… which the EX2 does not have. You’ll have to replace the stick to use it. Not an easy job.

If you replace the buttons completely than there wouldn’t be any buttons issues… right? Unless you mean something is up with the PCB ?

I should have mentioned, I plan on ghetto rigging the 8-way onto the stock stick as per this FAQ I found:

http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149488&referrerid=13029

Again, I should have clarified (sorry, I’m new to this): I have yet to receive and open my EX2 so I did not know what a button consists of. I can deduce from your post that it’s just plastic casing + the microswitch and no other important electronic components. If the buttons do go out, I will replace them and if that doesn’t work then I can assume the PCB has broken and that I have a much larger problem on my hand.

Thank you very much for your help!

get ready because those pcbs are prone to failure.

The buttons require soldering to remove and you have to bend/cut some buttons in order for them to fit. The buttons on the one I use are crapping out, with buttons not working 75% of the time and a recent problem with my system registering the jab as always pressed.

First and foremost, thanks for all the feedback guys

Ah, crapmonkeys. I don’t mind changing the buttons / gate but I hope the PCB lasts until the alleged SFIV stick comes out. I have no idea how tough/expensive a PCB would be to replace :sad: