Hori Fighting Stick for PS2

I recently bought one of these Hori Fighting Stick for PS2, and despite all positive reviews on the net, I have a very hard time using it.

I’ve been playing with a Dreamcast Arcade stick for the past 7-8 years for all my Street Fighter games, but found a lack of support in the way of input converters for different systems out there, and so decided to buy the Hori Fighting stick instead.

Compared to the Dreamcast Arcade stick, the neutral zone on the Hori Fighting stick is SO LARGE that all the movements for the special moves in Street Fighter have to be exaggerated to the point where is makes executing the move SO much slower. The buttons are fine, but I just cannot get used to using the joystick. Has anyone else noticed the same problem? Does the HRAP joystick have a smaller neutral zone, or is it the same?

yeah, the throw distance is a little longer than the green goblin, but it didn’t take me long to adjust at all…

perhaps you could replace it with a seimitsu stick, if you have the first version of the HRAP.

i don’t think it makes executing the move that much slower… my recommendation would be to just get used to it seeing as arcade cabinets, HRAP3, VSHG uses the same sanwa joystick.

He’s talking about the Hori Fighting Stick for the PS2 and not for the PS3. And the Hori Fighting Stick is NOT the Hori Real Arcade Pro.

oops.

i take it all back then… ditch the HFS and get a HRAP :smiley:

How much difference is there in terms of quality of the actual joystick component of the HFS in comparison to the HRAP?

I find it hard to believe that Hori would have intentionally made such a crap joystick, especially after having so many years of experience in this regard. Can anyone out there play properly with the HFS? Or is it just me?

i used to be able to play properly with it until i got a sanwa. never touched it again.

you can replace the stick with a Sanwa. i’m going to do that pretty soon. hopefully i can take some pics.