How can I learn spacing?

I’m a beginner and sometimes I try to play footsies but when I think I’m the perfect range I’m not. It’s hard for me to know my spacing when my opponent is constantly moving around. And my character doesn’t have a fireball so it’s hard for me to control space. So how can I learn to be at the right range? Also how do you guys play footsies at close range when it’s so easy to get swept or jumped in on? It’s really hard for me because when I try to play footsies, I often get punished for committing to a button but my opponent jumps in.

Please, good players give me some tips. I don’t want to play like a scrub and do random stuff, I want to play footsies like the pros in tournaments. I know it might take a long time to learn these things, but I want to learn

Go into training mode and use your normals and see what the ranges are both on standing and crouching opponents, since crouching opponents have an extended hitbox, so a lot of things that hit them, won’t hit a standing opponent.
This is so because crouch blocking is a very powerful defensive position and standing is by comparison very vulnerable, so having a smaller hitbox when walking towards someone has the advantage that you’re not so easily hit by pokes and can whiff punish.

Once you get a feeling for that just get into ranked matches and endless lobbies and try to apply what you’ve learned.
Don’t care about winning, care about learning.

If you feel the guy that has beaten you with his pokes, don’t just assume his pokes are better, go into training mode, setup a dummy with the character you lost to and see if his poke really beats your, or if you just got outplayed.
There’s no shortcut to shit like this anyways, you’re gonna learn in all departments of the game constantly and what people call footsies is such a large subject that you can’t just focus on that one part and hope to master it.

Read Maj’s Footsies Handbook and you’ll understand what I mean.