How do I block effectively?

So, I’m a big newbie, and I’m having trouble adjusting to street fighter/fighting games. I’ve read many threads here and everyone just said “block”. But, I seem to be terrible at blocking. Specifically, I want to ask how and where to block.

For example: I finally got down that when people jump in, I have to high block first and that if I’m crouching, I’ll get hit by someone in the air automatically. Believe it or not, this took me a while to figure out. My friends enjoyed the free hits I guess (have since moved out of town, so I play alone crying in a corner now). Now, after that first aerial hit, it’s typically best to low-block because when I don’t, I get owned (and combo-ed). Is there a point to blocking high again at this point? Or should I remain in downblock?

For some reason, I have a really tough time with Ken and the shoryukens. Is the first hit of the shoryu always low? Crossups still give me a little trouble, but at least I know I ended up picking the wrong direction when I got hit.

Mainly, I was wondering if anyone had tips on blocking strategy, or where to block (high/low). This seems to be the hardest part of the game for me. I enjoy playing a rushdown game, but the match will inevitably shift, and they go on a string of about 80% of my lifebar it seems :(.

Any advice welcome. I’ll clarify where needed! Just let me know.

Characters I play with/want to play well: Sakura, Gouken, and Akuma (probably best with him).

It just takes time to amass the knowledge of what moves need to be blocked high or low. If you look at the shoryuken wiki and look at the frame data of each character it tells you if the move has to be blocked high or low or can be blocked both.

Generally speaking everything can be blocked low except for moves that hit overhead (means hits high). A jumping attack usually hits overhead as well as certain command normals such as Ryus :r:+:mp:.