How do they make the sprites in King of Fighters look so good?

I’m new to KoF but looking at these sprites, I can say they beat HD remix’s sprites out of the water. I’m not sure which KoF game it is but maybe you can tell from the sprites

like this

http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20090601063515/snk/images/5/5f/Ash_XII.gif

this

http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/2325/kof.gif

and oh god this

http://img715.imageshack.us/img715/2824/maigk.gif

I refuse to believe that these were hand drawn sprites, did they use 3D renders and sprite it, or what?

Maybe because HDR sprites were never meant to have the same level of animation and smoothness as XII sprites since all they were meant to do was to bring the old ST sprites up to HD.

It is a simple matter of quality of concept, level of detail, and number of frames of animation per movement.

As i recall, the team working on this project did use 3D models for reference to speed up the process. That is just a time saving measure. You are incorrect in your assumption that hand drawn animation cannot look that good without some external computerized assistance. The only barrier to 2D animation quality is skill level and time (money).

^ thanks for answering. Its just that some parts of the sprites move as if they were 3D. Couldn’t begin to imagine how someone could sprite that frame by frame.

They have to be the nest sprites in any game I’ve seen by far.

Sure. Smoothness of movement is dependent on number of frames and ability of animator to properly utilize them. No limits to how good it can look.

psstt! Ash is a dude.

I already learned that well after it was too late, Tyler :stuck_out_tongue:

I remember sprites.

Old school KOF sprites were boss too. They were ahead of their time IMO.