How Do you Guys Pick Mains?

Alright ive been playing SF4 on PC for almost 6 months now. I have a lot of work and real life in the way so i dont always play and practice i play like 2-3 times a week for 3 hours or so, it’s all the time i have between work and school.

I play Guile, but something keeps nagging at me, I don’t feel like i want to play as him, it’s not as fun, and habitually i play with him only because of familiarity, and iv’e tried many characters but i can’t really choose. It’s like you, i don’t feel like that spark for a specific character that makes me go, Yeah I really want to play them.

How did the process of picking a main work for you guys?

1. “This character looks really cool!”
  2. Spend a week, suffer, pick a better character.
  3. Better character gets nerfed immediately in the next version.
  4. Go back to the character who looks really cool.

Well I actually got a bit lucky. Or unlucky, really, since my main is Bison. Oh well. I was messing around with a friend who wasn’t as good at the game (I was pretty bad, too, but I knew what I was doing). I believe I was maining Guile at the time, but only because I hadn’t picked anyone else. I didn’t care much for Guile, but I didn’t like anyone better. However, playing Bison against my friend, things just sort of clicked for me.

Every other fighter, now, I can look for characters with similar playstyles. Or just pick one that looks cool. Sometimes both. I seem to always end up with the archers now, too. Archers are cool like that.

I also try to pick top tier/ease to play characters in non-SF games now, since I really don’t have the time to invest in other series to get to the level I’m at with SF right now.

So basically, just play some (extended) sets with different characters, and see if one just kind of clicks for you. Otherwise, pick a toptier and roll with it!

you either like thier design, move list, or how you’ve seen someone else play with them…