How do you learn a new matchup?

cody

Hello everyone,

I’m not a veteran of this game,I started playing 2 years ago but now i want to learn it deeper than i did in the last few months.
Since i’ve got AE I switched from my freebuki to Cody and i’m in trouble with the strategy other ppl use when i play online.
Usually they play hide and seek with me jumping backwards all the time to keep distance and biting me with fireballs and everything they have
while i’m trying to close the gap between me and them.

It’s really frustrating and brings me to perform stupid moves like jumping forward or medium ruffian kick to get close to them offering a free
punish all the time :frowning: and at the same time i have no time to train combos or frame traps cos i’m too busy at closing the distance.

I have no friends playing SSF4 and there is no SSF4 community where i live so i decided to hit the Training mode and use it to improve my skills.

but i have no clue how to use it effectively…

atm here it is my workout

1. practicing some links and BnB combos setting the dummy in a standing position with autoblock on
  2. practicing some hitconfirm with autoblock set to random
  3. practicing some reaction to jumpin setting the dummy to record and then repeat (spamming jumpin or crossups)
  4. practicing some fireball avoidance setting it to record and repeat (spamming fireballs)

I have no others idea how to use it wisely and obviously when u got timing it becomes predictable and there is no skill
improvement. ( i know there is a guide that tells you some drills to perform in order to use it as a learning tool but i cannot find it damn!!)

so the big question is "how do you learn a new matchup?"
let’s say u pick up RYU as opponent, what do u do to prepare urself for the match?

usually:
I read “WAMO On Block” trying to figure out what is safe and which options i have.
I watch a tons of video
I read a tons of matchup tips