How Do You Practice Effectively?

I know that might sound like a dumb question but I really want to know how.

I see a player like trag, and on day one, he’s literally doing things I still can’t do with my main character. Stuff he calls child’s play I just recently learned. **What’s the key to getting down muscle memory and tech skill?**I understand players like trag are outliers and they’ve been playing fighting games for while, but still the fact that someone can do more technical combos with every single character (not to mention, many combos he’s INVENTING) in the game than I can do with my main character still baffles me. I mean, the game hasn’t even been out for a month yet. I’m not a professional gamer, but I always saw myself as a fairly quick learner, and my technical skill is certainly past standard casual gamers.

If I want to learn how to do something, do I just go in training mode and practice it over and over?

Do I go at it step by step?

Should I work on only one thing at a time until I master it and then move on or multi-task?

Also what’s the best way to practice spacing and approaching?

You already answered it yourself. Players who generally have more experience with fighting games (especially of the versus/crossover genre such as MvC2 and TvC) have an edge on learning this stuff more quickly. Trag also performed various technical TvC combos, so with this game being somewhat similar, it wasn’t very hard to pick up.

I’m a TvC player myself and I made this combo video on the second day I got the game: [media=youtube]Qee-kp2EQw8[/media]

So yeah, past fighting game experience gives you a HUGE edge in learning combos for this game. The muscle memory regarding combos and approaches (wave-dashing, tri-jumping, square-jumping, etc.) are all already developed.

As for practicing and learning, what I usually do is…