How does a beginner prepare for online play?

Decided to jump right into SSFIV:AE online, after an hour of play I was unable to win one single match, I pulled off a few rounds, but was never able to win. Very disheartening to say the least.

Is there some sort of basic training I need before I play online? I was hoping it would pair me against people I would atleast have a shot at winning against but maybe I over estimated my own skill level…

I guess the question here is, assuming I am a complete and utter noob, what is the best way to get to the point I can hold my own online?

Have a thick skin…there are some rude ass people on the internet.
If you can save your matches…do so. Re-watch them and see where you messed up.
If losing too much gets to you…take a break and hit training mode.
Remember that in online…there are chances that your confirms/combos may not come out the way you want.
Try not to be heavily reliant on combos…you don’t need to showboat.

Learn how to play your character.
Don’t bother with combos until you know the ins and out of your character.

When can I say I know my character? I almost only play Ken, and I feel like I know all his base moves fairly well (forward heavy kicks etc) and his basic combos (shoryuken, hadoken, etc) and their variations. I feel like most of my issues lie not in my knowledge of my character but in my execution, when to block, when to dodge, what attacks are safe when, what moves have hit priority, when to jump, when to crouch, anti-air, etc etc.

Among my group of friends I am the best at fighting games, but that’s more or less due to me being the only one who spends a decent amount of time figuring out my character’s movesets and such. But the difference from that and what I’ve seen online is insanely huge.

When you can win against competent players with just Footsies.
And your friends and 90% of the people online are not competent.