How does SSFIV compare to other SF games?

I’m pretty new to the SF series; the only one I’ve played seriously is SSFIV(and AE). Previous to that the only series I really did was Tekken (T3+). Trying SSFIV is what got me to attempt BB, which sold me on MvC3; I’ve realized I love the 2D fighters as much as I love Tekken (which is, oddly, the only 3D fighter I have ever really liked).

The biggest thing I notice in the games I prefer is how easy they make linking moves. I got somewhat good at links in SSFIV for a while, but then I didn’t play it much for a couple of months and when I came back all that practice had gone to waste. 1-frame links are just a little too demanding for me to want to invest the time, but I’ve found I really enjoy the characters in SF so I’d like to pick up a game that isn’t quite so difficult in that regard.

Do the SF games generally have this high of a execution level? Any recommendations for someone like me or should I just stick to other series?

the timing is stricter which make pro pros

Only the SF4 series is ultra-mega link-intensive.

other games are faster, dont reward you for getting hit, and require tighter execution

More moves and is 3D instead of just looking 3D. I’m wondering why the fuck is execution any important in playing a game versus another human?

It sucks?

Ninja Edit: All games require a certain degree of execution so I don’t quite grasp what you mean by ‘stick to’ another game. If you ‘stick to’ SF4 you’ll eventually be good and thus be able to do cool stuff. If you just want the “easy way out” i.e do 10 hit combos out the door by all means stick to Marvel, but that doesn’t mean there still isn’t crazy hard stuff that’d make your life hell that other people can do. That being said SF does have a few characters that don’t require much in the way of outworldly execution such as bison/rog/chun/yun/t.hawk/ken/ryu/etc.etc.etc.