How forceful on the joystick are experienced players?

I’ve only just recently been putting effort into fighting games as I purchased an Xbox and a couple sticks to play Cave shooters. While playing the shooters I’m quite delicate with the stick, but while training in KoFXIII I’m finding that I need to exert a lot of speed and force to execute many of the combos I’m attempting.

I’m kind of ocd regarding my sticks, should I be slamming the lever around or not? I don’t want to wear them out through unecessary force.

I don’t know anyone who plays these games so I’m asking here in the newbie forum because I am a newbie and this is probably a newb question.

Thanks for reading

depends on the player, but those with good execution tend to be more delicate and efficient with their motions and button presses. that’ll come with time and experience though, knowing exactly how much force to exert to get what you’re trying to execute.

if your stick is japanese (i.e. sanwa/seimitsu stick/buttons) they are made to withstand quite a bit of abuse so don’t worry about that.

dont worry about abusing the sticks… they are arcade parts assuming that you have madcatz. im pretty hard on my sticks though nowhere near someone that just bangs on them with little rhyme or reason. ive had my sticks for years and have yet to have so much as a button go out… and theyve been to many tournies and had many players use them.