How long did it take to adjust to a arcade stick?

Been having mine for at least 2-4 weeks now and well I’m barely getting used to it I still can’t find a good way to hold the stick every position I try has a downside for me like not being able to do a backwards shoryuken or a backwards quarter circle and such. Still can’t do Guile ultra combo too -.- Been having trouble pulling off combos online though cause the square gate annoys me

How long did it take for you guys to get used to the stick and also to remember combos ? In your guys experience was execution better for you guys when you switched your restrictor gate ?

I’d say about a good month or two. …i remember when I first ordered my stick I couldnt do anything on it, I had been playing pad so long but it was just an adjustment period…and although it was awhile ago (I’ve been playing stick for a few years now), looking back on it…my execution was probably just ass…lol…

i thought I hated my square gate the first couple weeks i had my stick… It was hard for me to DP. and do fireballs…, so I ordered an octo/8 way one…only to install it and hate it more lol… it was way too loose/free, so I switched back to square gate and sucked it up.

I just grinded it out and eventually I just got comfortable…i dont think the way I hold my stick is even on the internet…its a hybrid I think of a couple of them…just do what works for you…you’ll adjust…now I cant even play on pad…

Been asking people around here on the gates and they told me the same thing so I’m not really sure about ordering one
Im trying to have a hybrid one but it just messes me up during online play
Can you do combos with ease now ? I still can’t do a simple combo sometimes.

yeah, I can pretty much hit every combo i’ve practiced with ease w my character…like I said its just an adjustment process. really be mindful of your inputs…fightsticks are unforgiving. you have to be a little more precise than you may have been used to with a pad…