How much will octagonal gate help?

Hi everyone,

I’m a PC SFIV player who’s been using the keyboard and today I bought a Madcatz SE fightstick to try and improve my game.

The short of it is that I’m absolutely terrible with a joystick.

I usually play Cammy, and with the joystick, I find it really hard to pull of some of her moves, especially the Supers/Ultras (double fireball move) and the FADC.

How much will switching out to an octagonal gate help?

About me:
I’m a novice player. Using a keyboard I got to about G3-B level after maybe 3-4 hours of playing at championship. At “Hard” arcade level, I can usually get to Seth without dropping a match. I can almost always get Cammy to throw the Ultra/Super when I want it, but there are some moves that I can’t do, like the Hooligan combination. (Forget about a Guile Ultra or Zangief Spinning Piledriver) I picked up a fight stick so that maybe I could hit these moves too.

After an evening of fooling around with the SE fightstick, I’m finding I’m much much worse than with the keyboard. I almost always lose to every opponent in hard arcade mode and I hit my supers/ultras only maybe 10% of the time.

I’m thinking of either returning the fightstick, or modding it with an octagonal gate. I’m really hesitant to mod it, because after that, I can’t return it. ($70 is a fair amount of money to me.)

Should I:

1. Return the joystick, I’m hopeless, go back to keyboard
  2. Stick it out a bit longer with the square gate see how it goes
  3. Just upgrade to octagonal gate because that will probably fix everything

I’ve also tried using an xbox 360 controller, but it was completely hopeless.

Thanks for your input :slight_smile:

Also, while I’m here, how reliable are these SE fightsticks? At the store, both of the SE controllers they had out on display were broken. Should I just return it now before my 30 days are up?