How to defeat a turtling player?

Hi, i don’t consider my self a complete noob, i can do a lot of moves and have finished 6 trials in SSFIV (Ryu, Ken, Sakura, T. Hawk, Hakan, Cody), but even though i can do a lot of different combos (Ryu is my main), i find myself having a really hard time beating turtling players, sometimes it’s nearly impossible to get near them and when i do get near them, if i by any chance mess up my combo or if they tech my grab then we are back to square one.

What is the best way to beat these type of players??

Get a life lead.

Let them turtle.

Dude, Ryu is your main. Throw fireballs.

Analyze what they do that keeps you out, and analyze what they tend to do once you do get in. I am a turtle by nature, and the main thing that gets me riled up is when my opponent gets a life lead, and proceeds to turtle right back. Score some damage, and force them to go on the offensive.

But yeah, throw a shitton of fireballs with Ryu.

fire balling is what i usually do, i try to get a life lead by having my opponent block the fire balls, but i like rushing by nature XD. also, is jump hp the best way to air counter?? because another problem i have is that i usually lose out when me and my opponent air kick at the same time, i saw a tutorial and it said to use hp instead, is that really better?

You should be DP’ing them out of the air, not trying to jump up and hit them.

Be as scrubby as possible: Throw out a bunch of Hadoukens, and if they decide to approach you, Shoryuken. It will keep their health lower than yours and it will keep them away.

not very effective. the better turtlers will simply jump hadouken, which will frustrate a person who’s not used to dealing with turtlers even further. whichever person here said to gain a life lead was right on the money. they didn’t list a method though