How to get better?

Hey guys, I know how good some of you guys are around here, so I guess this would be the best place to post. Now, I got Super Street Fighter IV (My first ever, well, unless you count the SF you played at the arcade when you were like 4? :P). So yeah, I’ve been trying out a things, and I can get to about Trial 10 for ever single character, BUT, the thing is. I can’t pull ANY of these combo’s off in a match, AND my blocking sucks :frowning: Its like a match is a complete different game for me, I just forget everything I have learnt. Does anyone have any tips as to how to play the game well and be successful? ATM I find myself a nooby Ken shoryuken spammer (I know, I’m bad, but I don’t know anything else :() I have experimented with Sagat and had varied success with him, although I am not good at using his first ultra. I am using a standard 360 pad, if anyone is willing to help me out and give me a few tips, I would REALLY appreciate it :slight_smile:

First of all welcome to SRK and well Im going to tell you what have helped me, because Im a beginner too but the first thing is, to find a character that you like and you are comfortable playing whit when that’s out of the way, you really need new game pad the xbox 360 controller pad doesn’t work properly to play SSF4 in my opinion, if you can get a madcatz pad or an acade stick (witch takes some getting use to) you are going to do better at the game, and just watch videos of ppl fighting whit the character that you like so that you can get some ideas on the moves, cancels and so on well I hope this helps you but the bottom line is PRACTICE that’s the way to get better.:tup: