How To Learn

Hello,

I am having a problem playing online. The problem is, I keep losing. I have read a ton of beginner/newbie material on this webpage and others, I have practiced for hours in training mode, I have watched many high-level match videos and tried analyzing their gameplay and styles, and have a relatively easy time beating the AI on hard.

With this as my starting point, I figured I’d win 10% of my Live matches, at least. However, when I started playing online, I quickly learned the real number is more ~2% (yes, one win for every 50 matches).

The problem is, I can’t utilize most of what I’ve learned. It seems the opponents are always too fast for me to think/combo. They knock me down and stay right on top of me, so I don’t even have time to breathe before the match is over.

What can I do to get better playing online? I know perfect practice makes perfect, but it’s nearly impossible to ‘practice’ when I can hardly hit some of them. :wasted:

Thanks, all.

Learn from your losses.

Try and find a way to record your matches…put it on youtube…and maybe people here can help show you what you are doing wrong, and ultimately stop doing the bad habits.

It also would be beneficial to go to a local gathering/tournament. You can really learn alot about how you play.

If you prefer online…hit up the online forums, whichever system you play on. I’m sure there are threads on there whith other people looking for training sessions.

What game are you playing?

Thanks for pointing me towards the online forums, I’ll definitely check those out. As far as local tournaments, I feel it’d be kind of embarrassing bringing such a weak character to them. Perhaps not. I guess it depends on how friendly the locals are.

I am playing SSF4.

You could stop trying to build this building from the 10th floor down and try building it from the ground up.