How to Overcome a "wall" in Improvement? (As well as other questions)

Hello, this will be my first thread created on SRK.
So for a little bit of background… I started playing sf a little before 2012 was released I started lurking on this site about a month before that however. I only relatively recently created an account and started posting… Since getting into the genre then I have been playing very regularly and watching as many videos/streams as I can. I generally play AE, but I have played SFxT and MK9 a little. I play as Guile and in online I have over 1000 games played in between my 2 accounts. I generally hover at just below the 1k PP mark (if that is any designator of skill which is doubtful)
My problem is this:
I feel like recently I have hit a wall in getting better in AE. I think that I am an ok or decent player, and I know that everyone says that locals are the way to get better, and I have plans of going in the winter when I have more time/money/ability to get there.

So my questions are these:
What can I do to overcome a wall in improvement while not being able to go to locals at the moment?
Are locals really as helpful as everyone claims they are? (I will be going in the winter no matter what the answer to this question is…)
And finally, is there any thing I should know/think/do before I go to a local? I will admit I am intimidated by the idea of going. I will power through that though.

Thank you so much for any help in advance.