How to pull quarter circles with the SE stick

Hi all, I’m new to the srk community and have a question about the gameplay with a stick arcade. I am not an extensive arcade player (=complete noob, as I never got enough money before) and I got yesterday street IV and a madcatz SE stick arcade.

I have a real issue when trying to pull quarter circles with this stick, as the base is square… I read the reason why (it makes up/down/left/right faster because shorter) but what is the most efficient to play it???

Should I make small move, avoiding to touch the borders? Or should I do right then up to do a right forward 1/4 circle move???

Ideally, if you’ve hear of a tutorial video on a site, I would be happy to get the link…

One other aspect is the charge, once more its very hard for me to perform. How long should you charge?

And one last thing, upgrading with a sanwa stick could improve the ease of pulling these moves?

Thanks for your reply.

when i do quarter circles, i try not to hit the corner. its actually the 2x quarter circles that i have trouble with sometimes. when doing shoryukens, try to end at the corner.

i never played on the SE stick, but if you want to feel the difference between that and a sanwa, go check out a SF4 cab.

One other aspect is the charge, once more its very hard for me to perform. How long should you charge? : About 2 secs

And one last thing, upgrading with a sanwa stick could improve the ease of pulling these moves?: Not really, you’re just not used to using a stick yet. Play for about a week and you’ll be fine.

If you don’t mind opening up the case, you could get an octagonal gate. Makes it easier for some people to do circulars. Other than that, just practice, practice, practice until you get used to the square gate.