HRAP3 Sanwa stock stick

I’ve been transitioning from a pad to stick for about a month now (HRAP3) and I’ve been noticing issues with doing Ultras/Supers on player one’s side where as player 2 side I can spam them like well…spam lol. It’s not like I can’t do ultras and supers on Player One’s side but its has to be precise…like slow precise where as on player 2 side I can do it fast and get it off right away.

I’m just wondering…is it me? or is it the stick itself that’s defective…its the stock Sanwa stick that comes with every HRAP3. Or is it because Sanwas have a larger throw angle/square gate? Would a octagonal gate help out? I’m pretty new to the whole stick scene but I’ve been able to switch out the stock hori buttons with sanwas with no issues.

Thanks.

Practice, practice, practice. Seriously. I had the same issues when I first started playing on a Japanese stick, especially my Saturn Virtua Stick HSS-0136. I hated it at the time but stuck with it, and it turns out I was hating on a Seimitsu LS-56-01. :sweat:

I have issues doing ultras from the 2nd player side, but fine and easy on the 1st player side. You just need practice, lots and lots of practice.

I switched from a Square to Octagon gate since I don’t play Bison much anymore. Switched just to condition my hand and wrist to make fluid movements. Once I’m happy with my execution I’ll switch back to a Square gate.

I suggest you try the Octagon gate out, can’t go wrong, it’s only about 5-7 dollars to purchase.

copy/paste

Ah yes, the seminal “how to use a stick question.” Don’t worry, everyone has a hard time using a stick when they first get one. Let me give you some advice.

If you have a job, quit. If you are in school, dropout. If you have a significant other, break up with them. Cut all ties from your family. Sell all of your worldly goods, except of course, your arcade stick.