HSF2 AE: HF/ST Zangief Thread

Hello all, I just bought Anniversary Collection and am really enjoying this SF2 hybrid. Mainly because it has my single favorite version of Zangief in any game: Hyper Fighting.

So, I am interested in trying to get something started here for him. I didn’t play SF competitively back in the day, so I don’t know that much about HF Gief’s matchups, etc.

Here is a question: Which matchups would HF Gief be best for, and which would ST be the better choice for? Generally speaking, it seems HF would probably be better against fireball characters and ST against non-fireball characters, but I’m no expert.

Thanks,
Josh.

I think that HF is pretty much better all around. HFing’s KKK lariet is too good

We need Kuni to post some Gief strats!!

This ones hard, normal Zang does a fuck load with his SPD and gets mad distance with it and the best thing is that all versions do the same amount of damage and it hardly goes any where which leaves plenty of time to walk up to the opponent and do c.mk into another SPD which I think is hard to punish though for some people it isn’t. However this gief is extremely slow and gets thrashed by most newer characters especially chargers and his pimp lariat is of no good use.

HF giefs 3K pimp lariat fucking owns, easily avoids projectiles better than any other version and puts tons of pressure against the opposition. The only problem I have with this Zang is that his SPD leaves to much space between him and the opponent + no double german

The only other version I think is good is ST mainly cause of the Banishing fist, Double german and FAB, pimp lariat isnt as good though.

Thanks for saving me the time of creating this thread! Since I haven’t really played Gief in SFII I have some questions…