Hugo wants some hugs! (How to get in?)

Hi everyone!

Hugo is obviously a slow and enormous giant with limited options against turtling or fireball characters. Some characters are faster or have better jumping normals with great hitboxes. I’m not a pro player but I’m not a noob either and it seems I can’t do s**t against 75% of the cast; they can simply zone me all day and I can’t find any options to get in.

I guess I might not be the only one in this situation and I think sharing our tips could be a good idea.

Also, what would be a great launcher combo? I tried some technology like:

cr.mp->clap->cr.lp->cr.mp->s.hp->launcher but it misses by 2 pixels, any ideas?

Thanks and have a nice day!

Using Monster Lariat to get in helps for me. Usually when my opponent is chucking Fireballs (non ex) I absorb the fireball then dash cancel forward. Then when im in range I start poking with cr.mk, st.mp.

Right now, I feel Hugo can get in better then lets say Marduk who has no options besides his slow backhand fist which also has Super Armor.

i just read someones post about landing on a fireball and rolling forward!

seems fucking genius! i will be doing this soon.

Lariat to get in, and for the launcher combo you want to try crouch mp, light clap, stand lp, stand mp, then command launcher

Loll! Never thought about that one! Depending on your position on screen I guess this might be somewhat usefull.

Shame on me! I just realised that NORMAL lariat can absorb one fireball! -_-’ I though only the ex version did! Gotta love that obsolete SSF4 technology! lol

Also, is this launcher combo character specific? I’m pretty sure I tried every possible follow up after crouch mp, light clap and the last hit (launcher) always seems to miss. (Maybe I was drunk as well I don’t know…)