I am a new Urien player

urien

…and I suck.

Hard.

I find myself forgetting to charge when I do fireballs and stuff, and I can’t parry shit while maintaining a charge.

1. You shouldn’t be fireballing that much?
  2. You should just only parry when you need to. Just block and charge.

Problem solved?

Yeah, I recently started playing Urien too and I tried to parry everything while keeping that prescious charge. I finally just forgot about it and parried only stupid things like fireballs and obvious wake-ups. And for fireballs. well… I’m wasn’t much of a charge character person until I started playing him so I had to learn that you just charge. Charge all the time, no matter what. I’m not where I want to be, but I’m getting better. Charge characters just take some getting used to.

I too have just started using Urien. I’m still learning the basics of his moveset, but being a decent Alex player, I understand about partitioning (although, I’m lead to believe by some that with Urien, it’s less important).

I just need to know some basic combos after I get my opponent launched with my cr.HP, the best I can do is a LP headbutt.

When people first start Urien, they tend to think that he NEEDS the charge. Well, first, let’s take a look at his charge moves in battle (NOT in combos…you shouldn’t be forgetting to charge IN COMBOS).

1. Headbutt - Jab is good for wake up, but if it looks obvious, even jab version is unsafe.
  2. Tackle - Badly unsafe
  3. Knee drop - EVEN MORE unsafe