I don't understand this game (sf4)

I come from the 8wr/TYM forums, and I started playing late ae, shortly before ultra was announced. I don’t who to main, because I don’t fully understand the game yet.
and all the fundamentals I take from SCV Igau and MK and all the videos I’ve watched, don’t help at all.
my friend from sf4 vanilla isn’t a scrub whisperer, and I’m running out of patience.
I’m playing to get better but i feel like I’m failing to walk through walls :
I dont want this game to defeat me, before I even know which way is up. So if anyone has the time/want to show me the ropes, and help me not drop SF, I’ll most likely be turning up to more offline locals in England :smiley:
I’m on Xbox btw GT is my username

Seeing as you’ve mentioned SCV, MK9 and Injustice I’m assuming that this is your first time with a traditional 2D fighting game. Alot of things will be different from how MK9 and Injustice handle things, since those borrow more from 3D fighters.

First up, you’ll notice that the frame data is faster, you don’t really see any double digit values.

More importantly, unlike 3D fighters, MK9 and Injustice, a traditional 2D fighter does not rely on strings. On neutral, this means relying more on single pokes and learning to confirm of hits while playing footsies. In terms of pressure, it’s less “linear” (for lack of a better term) since you can’t just rely on canned strings, instead you’ll be stringing together your own block strings and figuring out how to keep yourself safe.

The important thing to remember is that traditional 2D fighters are more about controlling space (hitboxes, space on the screen) than controlling time (memorizing frame data, keeping yourself safe while doing pressure).

SCV too, is very footsie, and spacing oriented but even with that in mind learn where my furthest normals reach and when to push buttons whiff punishing on mistakes.