I modded my Fightstick Pro. Drilling into metal happened

This is my first stick ever, and the first time I’ve ever modded one, and it just so happens that I wanted something complicated. Per my thread in the Juri forums, I wanted a better physical layout to make playing with fireball stores easier. Of course, the FightstickPro isn’t the easiest stick to mod, especially because I had to drill into the metal top plate. (I have zero experience drilling into metal. Drywall, sure.)

After disassembling the stick, I marked out where I wanted the new buttons. Didn’t have much choice, but as long as they lay under my thumbs it’s all good. This pic shows how the black plastic casing gets in the way, but at least the electrical parts weren’t too close.

Finding a hole saw in metric was an ordeal. Finally found them at Eastside Saw (Seattle/Bellevue) so I didn’t have to mail-order them and wait. (For those of us who don’t know what a hole saw is, it’s the orange piece in this pic. I didn’t know either when I started. Thank god for Google.)

Underneath the drill is the metal rasp I used to smooth the burrs on the new holes. The black plastic bit was tougher because it was only a small piece. If it was large enough so the drill bit could “anchor” the hole saw while chewing on it it would’ve been much easier. Still, plastic is soft so the hole saw eventually chewed through it. (I unscrewed the nearby electrical pieces while doing so, of course.) Then the re-assembly began: