Ibuki Character Matchups

ibuki

I felt the Ibuki forums needed a thread specifically for character matchups. We should post all of Ibuki’s matchups against each character, since im new to Ibuki, I can’t really contribute anything at the moment.

Discuss !!!

Yeah, I figured someone would make one of these eventually. I’ll go ahead and start with Ken since he’s a character you will end up against a lot in tournaments.

Vs. Ken: Ken is a very solid all around character. He has ways to win against pretty much every character in the cast. He has no real bad matchups and Ibuki is not a character that really puts him at any real disadvantage matchup wise. Ibuki can definitely win this match though and it’s all on creating momentum and forcing Ken to do things at the wrong times.

(Poking/Footsies)

Luckily in this matchup…your poking game actually works pretty nicely against Ken’s. f+HK will go over and hit Ken out of all of his low pokes. If you’re at a distance and feel Ken is going to throw a c.MK…don’t be afraid to throw this. Does good damage and stun and gives you optimal advantage for setting up another poke. Has decent recovery if it whiffs but you don’t want to whiff it much unless you like eating low forward super from Ken. Try to get this to at least connect or have the opponent block it. If it whiffs over Ken’s head during a low poke you’ll more often than not be able to recover before he can stick another poke in. You’ll also want to use this poke from a distance since you get more advantage from a distance on hit. Up close the opponent can sneak in a quick poke or throw on your way down. Also goes over Ken’s fireball at closer ranges.