I'm a noob and due to my bad habit this is my most dreadful opponent: c.LP

Longer version:
I decided to bring it up because I figured I couldn’t be the only one with this issue.
Some background: I’ve always been around street fighter as a kid and played SF4 casually all the time against friends and I’m afraid I got some bad habits.
I have this stupid tendency to only use fierce moves. I see something punishable? c.HK. I’m getting combo’ed? Mash c.HK. I manage to land a kunai and throw people into my Ibuki vortex? Nope, c.HK.
This used to work pretty decently against my friends but I’m getting crushed online due to c.LP spam and am having huge problems letting this bad habit go. Anyone’s been through stuff like this or got any tips to overcome it?

Short version:
Looking for tips/advices/stories on how to let go of the habit of mashing sweeps and being overly aggressive (or at least how to be smart at it).

What I’ve been doing to break those bad habits gained from years of casual play, is to turn it into a game - ban yourself from doing whatever it is you’re doing too much off, or doing stupidly. Be it random jump ins, sweep spamming in your case, or in my case, random dive kicks.

I try and go through arcade mode once without doing said banned thing, and then will hit up some online games against real opponents. Hopefully you’ll learn other techniques in the process!

I’m sure someone else can fill you in on what you should be doing instead and all that jazz - but thats how I try and train myself to stop doing bad habits in game!

Thanks for the reply! I’ll be challenging myself to a no-sweep arcade mode run right now. As far as c.LP’ing and other hitconfirm goes, how do I punish people that mash them?

To get over sweepingand other hard moves program them off the controller; just go in with lp,lk, mp,mk. Stay outof the other persons c.lp range. Use a medium attack at the tip when they get into range to keep them out.