I'm having PC hardware issues

A while back, my windows 7-based PC started blue screening and running slow. I thought it may have been a hard drive issue. Today, I finally got the change to play around again, and I’m starting to think the issue is the motherboard? ;_;

What concerns me the most is this:
http://i.imgur.com/cUi56.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/UE9vK.jpg

Those are the two places where my computer always gets stuck when I restart. The blank screen (well, the screen with the single flashing line) comes right after the other.

I really don’t want this to be a motherboard issue. Hard Drive, RAM, and GPU would all be easier to deal with. I’m not an expert on hardware, but right now I can’t figure out anything else it’d be. I’m not exactly sure how I’d test this.

Any ideas?

Make sure the ram is properly seated and secure, hard drive issue would be able to tell you. Motherboard issue usually doesnt even get to splash screen.

reinserted the RAM, then tried each stick by itself. No difference.

Could it be some issue with the mobo or psu connecting to the hard drive?

can you get into CMOS from the first screen? are there any beeps? besides the p.o.s.t. (power on self test) beep?

troubleshoot 101:
disconnect HDD and unseat all cards and component cables. Does your mobo have a code error LCD or light/sound sequence to indicate errors?
(if you dont have onboard video, leave vid card)

Cold boot

you should at least be able to get into CMOS… you may get errors for no vid card is present… if it freezes still in the same part then chances are it is your mobo…

Add components one by one cold booting each time as you go. ram/HDD (individually if more than 1) then GPU/s and other cards

Option 2: diconnect hdds and boot… try to get to cmos… if you can, try another HDD

It really could be anything… you have to systematically eliminate the good until the bad

You lost me at CMOS.