I'm new to fanart section and art in general

Hello everyone!

First let me say after seeing everyones work it’s safe to say their are some really skilled people on this forum. i mean just wow!

So, i’m walking through a book store and i see one of those “how to draw manga” books. I buy it on a whim and read it. all i can say is now i’m hooked.

to make a street fighter reference, when a person begins to play street fighter it is easy to come to the assumption that they game is just special move and if you learn those moves you will be victorous. Then when you come to a place like srk you relize there was more to the game then you ever imagned. So what i’m saying is “how to draw manga” was like comming to srk for drawing.

I want to draw, but i don’t really know much i’ve never takin an art class or anything. I’m trying to go through the book and work on different body parts before i try making and actual person or character.

I’m having real trouble with hands and feet. they always look really fat and just plain stupid. i relize posting some of my failed attempts at hands and feet would be the best method for you guys to give me pointers but i have no means to do that.

I realize rome wasn’t built in a day so i’m not asking for any “make me great in a day tips.” so if anyone could give me sugestions on how to draw hands and feet better or examples i can follow i would really appreciate it. thanks!

Hey man. Here’s a bit of help in response to your thread.

the main thing I can tell you is this. PRACTICE. I can’t say this loud enough, often enough, or well enough. practice will help you overcome whatever problems you think you have, as well as ironing out the ones you don’t even know about yet. The more practice you get, the better you will get and sooner too.

Here’s a trick that I’ve used to help me get past the problems you’ve already listed. It’s frowned upon by some, but it is THE most effective way I’ve ever seen.