In AE, EX Green head is guaranteed to give enough time for SPD?

zangief

Shoryuken newbie here

I main Gief and was wondering if its just my execution input or just the way Gief’s green hand works, but it seems that I whiff a SPD about 50% after an EX green hand. Do I just need to work on my timing or is the EX green hand setup now more like an option select

SPD Glitch?

EXGH on hit is +1 so you cannot grab them during that frame of advantage. As a rule of thumb I start the motion on the last hit of the EXGH and I have never had a problem with this in match.

Yeah I seem to notice that problem also.

But frame data says otherwise:
http://www.eventhubs.com/guides/2008/nov/13/zangief-frame-data-street-fighter-4/

EX Greenhand being +1 on hit means SPD, which starts up in 2 frames should work. So if you were frame perfect or not, you should still be able to grab them. Yet this is a bit inconsistent?

Unlike, the Super and Ultra I which starts up in 1 frame, would whiff if performed frame perfect

The inconsistency leads me to believe that either EX Greenhand is greater than +1 on hit or SPD starts up in 1 frame?

You are throw invulnerable for 2F after blockstun/hitstun/wakeup. So you would need to wait 2 frames after EXGH to SPD. You could do immediate normal throw though.

Yo i agree… i think the frame data is off on ex hand on hit.

Can you give the source for this info.

That would explain alot, so on hit: Your +1 then add the extra 2 Frames - Means you have to wait 3 frames before grabbing them. Which would mean frame perfect regular throws would whiff, as they startup in 3 frames. You have to wait 1 frame for normal throws, 2 frames for SPD or 3 frames for Super/Ultra I.

Regular throws have 2F active time so no delay is needed. The second active frame will grab them from a +1 situation.