In-browser super turbo game site

How interested would you all be in an in-browser emulation SF 2 turbo with netplay? The site would have quick match making, ranking, different game modes and tutorials.

Think of tetrisfriends.com only for SF2 Turbo.

I certainly don’t have the skill set to solo this kind of project yet. I only minored in computer science and now work in a totally unrelated field. But I am still a hobbyist programmer now with a few simple games and webapps under my belt using JavaScript, actionscript, and HTML 5 canvas.

Since finding out about GGPO I’ve fallen in love with the turbo scene and after a while, I couldn’t help but imagine playing turbo in the way tetris friends is implemented- Load up the browser anywhere with key bindings tied to my profile. Play a few rounds at work. It could bring casual gamers familiar with browser games into the fighting game scene. Emulators built using javascript and html5 are getting more and more advanced. Implementing MAME emulation with netplay in HTML5 doesn’t seem that crazy. Even if it wasn’t done using javascript and html 5, there is also silverlight, unity, etc.

This idea has been kicking around in my head for months now and I’m at the point now where I just want to see it happen. By anyone.

Are there any developer folks out in the community that can give advice on what languages/libraries would be best suited for the project? I really want to see this thing exist- I just don’t know where to begin. Any help or guidance appreciated.

I assume that since the game code is on the site, you will have to get a license from Capcom to do this.

http://www.tetrisfriends.com gets away with what it is as its all original code and graphics and they have the blessings of Alexey Pajitnov and Tetris Holding, the holding Company that liceses the rights for other publishers to make Tertis titles.

Before you can even start, you need to get in touch with Capcom and get a licensing agreement with them.