In learning Street Fighter, what aspects should take precedence

I’m new to Street Fighter and have only begun to delve into the resources available for newbs like myself at sites like this and others. There’s a lot of to take in, obviously. It’s a dense game with many facets.

My question is, what’s the best way to go about tackling the game; how should I prioritize the various aspects of the game that need to be mastered?

For example, my first instinct is to pick a character and learn their combos. But I’ve read on this board that combos are far less important than things like spacing and footsies.

I guess the best way to phrase this question is to ask if you were to put together a course on Street Fighter, how would you structure the course? What would you teach in Week 1, Week 2, etc?

Here’s where I’m at. The first thing I’m doing is simple execution. I’ve picked Ryu as my (interim) main, since that’s the character I’ve heard is best for players new to the game. I’m just doing repetitions of his specials with the goal of doing 20 in a row without a mistake. After that, his Super and his Ultra.

The next thing I plan on doing is timing - just performing simple links (cr. lp, st. f, for example) with the intent of not really learning the combos, but just getting the timing down and beginning to build muscle memory for links and cancels.

After this, though, I’m not sure where to go. I would guess straight to the combo trials, to begin learning combos that can be used in game situations. I dunno, though. What should I be prioritizing at this point?

Please let me know.

defense. high/low block, learning what over heads look like, crouch tech to avoid throws, blocking cross ups.

If you can’t defend yourself, nothing else matters.