Input Videos

Hey guys. I’m relatively new to the fighting game scene. I just started three months ago when i started going to a weekly even at a buddies place where we just drink and mash out SSF4 for hours on end. I picked up my arcade stick recently and rarely ill have some input problems. I can solve most of them with some repetition training in training mode. But i was wondering, are there any videos out there showing the input some pros or veterans use. Like a video with a POV looking at the STICK, rather than the game?

This might not be the most relevant inputs for you, but it was the first one I found:

VesperArcade Gen Trials

I think his other “trials” vids have a “hand cam” too.

Edit: Yup. Hit that link and all the “related videos” are trials for other characters with the same double view.

I suggested this a while back in the main thread on this forum, as I agree it would be helpful, but it didn’t get a great response. I am searching for good ones outside of this forum however and will let you know if I find any.

I would really like to see someone trusted take on this kind of thing however for not just SSFIV but UMvC3, MK9, KOFXIII, etc. as there are differences from game to game on timings and effective motions for complex super’s and combos.

Yea man, this is awesome. We don’t hold the stick the same way but it is helpful none the less.
Princess: Yea, if we could get a thread and compare how we hold sticks, and the pros and cons for each strategy that would be stellar. So far this community has been ultra supportive and welcoming. I’m sure it wouldnt be too far of a stretch to garner support for this idea.

Long story short: you are really over thinking this. Most people who play at above the newbie level don’t give much–if any–thought to their grip. The reason there aren’t many people who discussing pros and cons of stick grips is that by the time they are good enough to have an informed opinion, the topic is rather moot.