Is it better picking characters you like instead of characters to just get a win?

sorry for the long title name lol. I had this game for a while now and i still get destroyed by the usual. I mostly just pick characters i like but i haven’t got many wins by them (Deadpool/Dormammu/Strider). So any advice would be appreciated

you’re more likely to want to put the work in if you play characters you enjoy. so yeah, in a way it’s easier to get good that way.

you get better by first learning how to play the game.

I would try to make them work as much as possible before considering switching. See if the team works well together. What assists do you use?

Deadpool-Katana-Rama
Dormammu-Dark Hole
Strider-Vajira

Well, these seem real good as Striders Vajra is overpowered as fuck. I am no expert at MvC3, but this team sounds like a good start. Keep studying them and trying to see where you can improve with your team. Like the timing of your vajra assist button presses, how well they DHC, and how well they play in the neutral game. Like, can you effectivly control space with this team on occasion? If not, try to learn how you can. If the team still doesn’t work for you, ask the UMvC3 section on some tips for using these characters efficiently, if at all.

If you want to get better faster, learn to like characters that are the best in the game and play those characters. The derpier the better. Now I won’t stop playing MODOK, because I have fun with him despite working 10 times harder than the Vergil who gets touch of deaths for breathing on me.

This game allows for all types of upsets though because of the system, but you’ll do much better learning to love the derp.

It depends. You not only have to like them, but you have to like playing them, too. I love me some Phoenix Wright, but I hated playing him, so I ditched him quickly.

Fortunately, this is hardly ever a problem to most people. Playstyle might have already been a person’s reason for picking X character already.