Is lag equal for both players? or is sometimes longer for others?

Hi guys first post,

Have been playing SF4 online for PC now for a couple of months and this is my first time playing a fighting game online. What i wanted to know was is if the game is lagging out, am i still seeing exactly what the other player is seeing on his screen or are there times when i am seeing stuff before him and vice versa?

It almost feels that sometimes the other player is just reacting way quicker than I am able to… I remember playing online vs Ken… He whiffs a HP SRK and i am standing there waiting for him to come down to HP, HP SRK him, before I even get my HP out, he’s already Shoryu-Reppaing my sorry hide???
In all honesty there are times when i also feel that my opponent who seems to be pretty good is also lagging out behind me (doing things like walking directly into fireballs, getting sweeped way too easy)

Obviously the netcode isnt perfect, but is it even the case that the lag can be so uneven?

People mashing out commands will beat the person putting it in once during lag most of the time, hence why online play causes me to rage and punch holes in the walls.

This is roughly how it works: