It IS possible to build a scene from next to nothing

I just did a quick search in this forum and found quite a few threads asking how to build a scene around them, how to make it grow. Unfortunately I can’t give you an all working solution but something good happened today and I felt like sharing, maybe it will inspire one or two of you. Who knows?

I live in Quebec city. It’s not a particularly great city but it’s what I got for now. I started playing fighting games in 05. At the time I was deep into World of Warcraft. I mean DEEP into it. To the point where my boss at the time told me to quit or I shouldn’t bother coming into work the next morning. He handed me a copy of Anniversary Collection for PS2 along with a fight pad and told me I could come back when I could take a match off of him.
It’s amazing how quickly you learn (the very basics at least) when you’re faced with no choice.
My interest took off from there. At the time though there was 4 of us (myself included) in town that played any fighting games and after a few months one of them had a wrist accident “playing guilty gear” and couldn’t keep playing. We were down to three. Soon enough a second one, my ex boss now, stopped coming down to our little fight nights. There I was with Dez26 and once in a blue moon his brother would come down.
Not the best scene you can imagine.

Flash forward to last february when SFIV comes out. Launch day we have a party. Myself, Dez26, his brother, my ex boss and one or two more randoms we could get from around. It looked a little promising. Nothing spectacular for you NYC or Cali folks but for us, it was the most we had in one place for a gathering in a while. Sadly the hype died down pretty quickly and soon enough it was me and Dez again.