JLF spring help

Hey guys my friend recently gave me his stick to mod and there is a problem with his JLF. I seems that the stick itself feels really stiff (DPs are hard as hell to do). He wants it to feel like an original stock Sanwa. When I opened the JLF it turns out there was only one spring so I’m assuming its faulty. Is there a certain spring I’m supposed to get because I’m about to head out to Home Depot to get that assorted spring pack? This is my first time modding the actual JLF so please help a newb out. Thank you in advance

Well to not overcomplicate things, you would want to just buy the intended spring for a JLF (which is specially made if I am not incorrect). At a website like Lizardlick (at the time of writing it seems they are out of stock though). Although buying just a spring would seem truly be awkward, no?

You could try compressing the spring under something heavy for a day or so as a stretched spring will have more resistance.

Thanks, any idea when they’ll be back in stock?

You can ask Chad on his thread?http://shoryuken.com/f177/greetings-lizard-lick-amusements-130032/ He has really great customer service. I’m sure you could ask him for a first class envelope with the spring instead of getting a priority mail box and having to pay $5 shipping for it.

And there’s other springs that can be mixed and matched with the JLF, in case you wanted to order a variety pack. Joystick Controller - Joystick and Button Attributes and Brand Parts Mix and match until he has feel that he likes.

But, the best way to really have the Sanwa feel is just getting a JLF spring. It is a very easy replacement. If you take it apart enough, you’ll eventually find where the spring should go. You could try it now, then compress the current spring, then put back in and see if you want to get a replacement.

I got tired of messing with mixing different spring types or doing the Home Depot thing. It just made the joysticks too tight or inconsistent at best.