JLF to LS-56 comparison

So after reading a couple threads, I’ve heard some pretty nice things about how the LS-56 is the God of all octo gate sticks. This seems like the major verdict anyway.

So here’s my question. I’ve been learning how to use a stick on my TE for about 2 months now. I’ve been using an octo gate. Exactly how does the LS-56 feel in comparison to the JLF? What exactly makes it so much better supposedly?

I didn’t like the ls-56 compared to the JLF, the octogate on the 56 is pretty notchy compared to how smooth the JLF is. Also the the throw on it is very very short, and the spring is slightly stiffer.

Some people will favor the feel and throw of the 56 over the JLF though. With the JLF you are doing a lot more movement though, if you just started with a stick learning on the JLF, you hand might not be precise enough to find the 56 advantageous.

Just buy one and sell it to me if you don’t like it!

With the LS-56, there octagon is smaller so the angle till it hits the gate is smaller. So in short it has a smaller throw or total maximum movement distance. You can make smaller movements on it compared with the JLF. Also it has a slightly tougher-tighter spring, so less accidental engages.

Jiggly, dude, you moved on to stick playing huh?

LS-56 Octo Gate have VERY short throw, I would say half of the Sanwa Octo, or at the very least it feels like half. I know DGV uses one in his TE stick, I borrowed it once at NCR. Totally threw me off on how short the throw was, but I can see the benefits especially for a game like HDR.

I think an LS-56 is worth looking into for 360 throws and more difficult circular movements overall, especially in ST & HDR.

Well, I don’t have any problem sticking with the JLF, and I was extremely used to a Happ stick before I bought this TE. I think I’ll give it a shot. Considering I main Hawk in HDR, I could probably use that stick.