Joypad vs. Controller

Hey guys. I’m new to competitive play in games like Marvel vs. Capcom, Streetfighter 3rd strike, etc. I focused all my time and effort to Smash Bros. Since SFIV is coming out I wanna give it a shot at competitive play and I was just curious about the joypad vs. a regular controller. I know it depends on the player but I was just curious for everyone else’s opinion. I looked around at some sites and it seems like the joypads are pricy, which means I’ll probably stick to the controller for a while. Anyways, opinions on Joypad vs. Controller?

1. This thread belongs in Tech Talk.

2. There have been a million threads about this. Please look more carefully before making a new thread.

3. What are you even asking?! Those two terms refer to the same thing.

4. Get an arcade stick.

Gas Pedal vs Flintstones style feet driving

Iam just posting in here to say how much I think the 360 controller sucks for fighting games. IT SUCKS!!

get a stick. controller = swimming with a straight jacket.

Do new members have rep disabled?

Nope, you just gotta give them something first. I negged him and then the bar appeared.

Give the newb a break. There will be a lot of new members coming through the forum due to all the fighters that are coming out this year. Steer him/her in the right direction.

OP read the rules: http://forums.shoryuken.com/announcement.php?f=2

wtf? joypad and controller are essentially the same thing, stupidity to the max.

Hey man, I’ve been playing these games for years. Though I’m not too far from being a noob myself. Here’s the deal.

Fighting games come from an era where Arcades were king. When Street Fighter II came out, the game designers had to find a way to make a fighting game with smooth motion control that simulated progressive gameplay with something as limiting as an arcade joystick.