Just Starting Out

gen

Hey everyone, I just picked up SSF4 and been messing around with the characters and Gen really stood out to me. I’m a novice when it comes to fighting games ( I played sf2 back on the genesis way back when but only casually) so some of the more intricacies are lost on me.

I’ve been in the training room just playing around with Gen and have been wondering what everyone else’s style approach for playing him is. I’ve mostly just been trying to establish zone of control with some pokes while throwing in some cross-ups. I haven’t exactly found my BnB combo yet, but I’ve been working a lot with KKK j.mk c.lk PPP Super Ultra1.

I find myself having the most problems with just getting the qcf motion down for the initial super, but if I can get that it’s pretty easy for me to follow with an ultra or a full gekiro.

I’m mainly just asking for some friendly pointers on how to improve my game. I’ve read some articles about footsies and other tactics, so I’m not completely lost on some of the terminology. Putting it into actual practice though is another story, so any advice you guys could give me would be immensely appreciated.

Welcome, glad you found your way to Gen.

First off are you using a stick or Controller? We need to start there for that problem.