Just starting to get into kof series

and so i thought the best idea was to start with 2k2 since everyone loves it.

well i got decent at ggx2. then i swtiched to t5. and i’ve haven’t played 2d (much less kof) in a long time. so number 1 im a bit rusty, and number 2 i have no idea who i should use in kof.

well lets get on to my questions. first. whose a good starter charcter to use for just learning the basics of kof 2k2. just someone whose simple yet doesn’t suck. and whats the best way to approach the game in general. i started playing last night and i felt like a retard so any help would be greatly appreciated.

For starter characters I’d suggest Terry or Ryo. Terry has some pretty easy motions for his moves, is pretty strong overall, and is generally easy to use and get used to. Ryo is also a generally easy to use character with some good moves and variety. The best way to approach the game is just with an open mind and always looking to improve. Yeah, that’s kind of general and corny, but what else is there to say? That’s basically how all fighters are when you’re trying to learn them.

02?! Why?!

Terry or Ryo sounds good. For chargies you may want to start out with Leona as well. Fast and strong moves.

i hate chargies. and. im playing 02 because there is a tourny coming up.

and i started with k9999. which i dont know why but i like him a lot. and i guess i’ll try ryo and terry to.

i tried leona im just not use to kof2k2 at all. like im getting molested by the computer constantly.

if your talking “easy to learn” meaning meaning the motions(which i doubt since you said your starting with k4-9) then yeah terry is alright, but he sucks in '02, try kyo instead(he has an awesome MAX combo). but the best chars in '02, IMO are billy,kula,athena(in no order).

cam347: '02 is the SO much better '03. i wont go into details now, gotta go to bed.

http://www.shoryuken.com/forums/showthread.php?t=106020

And yes, there is little reason to play kof2k3 over 2k2.