Kalypso's Hugo FAQ

hugo

==This guide will not be finished, I’m too lazy. If ANYONE wants to attempt to write their own, on a reply a few down I put the rtf files of what’s written here, including forum formatting. None of this is copyrighted to me. Do what you want with it.=

-=Kalypso’s Hugo FAQ=-

Just to let you know, I’m by no means an expert Hugo player. In fact, when I play, I’m pretty much a scrub. I decided to try and change that by watching a good ammount of match videos, looking at his moves stats, organizing as much stuff as I could to find viable ways to win. Such things will be what this post is composed of strategy-wise, things I have observed in videos and heard about in threads. ANYTHING you may have to add to this guide, if I find it useful I will add it in. As with all of my posts like this, I would rather this be a discussion than a one-sided lecture. Anyway, without further delay, the guide to the guide!

Also, if I have typos or clerical errors, please point them out. I’d like this to be as easy to read as possible.

Standards
For damage, I have chosen to perform combos in Training Mode on a Playstation 2, against a Computer Dummy Ken. Settings Default. I could have used Karathrow’s stats, however I found it more benefitial to simply do them myself for a few reasons. First of all, Karathrow’s combo damage calculation is more complicated than me simply doing it myself. Second, I did not write or have anything to do with Karathrow, not saying it’s unreliable but I’d rather confirm things myself. What I will be using are Karathrow stun values, and other assorted things such as frame data.

Karathrow Data for Hugo- http://web.archive.org/web/20040415190636/www.karathrow.com/hugo.html

Some overheads and such will work vs Ken, but not vs other characters crouching. I will test them all eventually, that will be a future update.

Motions
qcf - Quarter Circle Forward (Down, Down-Forward, Forward)
qcb - Quarter Circle Back (Down, Down-Back, Back)