Kaytrim Case, paint tips?

Hi,
I have an unfinished case from Kaytrim here and I am trying to figure out how to finish it. I am leaning towards painting it like how zombiecpt does, like the Raiders case seen here: http://picasaweb.google.com/wliu0912 A nice semi reflective black.

It seems like it is a pain to get the paint to get that reflective gloss, unless the automotive paint he appears to use is easy to work with. I’m just looking for some tips like how many coats of primer, paint etc. I have very little experience in wood finishing, I can use all the help I can get. Thanks!

paint guide

I pretty much followed this guide here:
http://case-mods.linear1.org/case-mod-101-how-to-paint-your-computer-case-part-1/3/

My stick is not completed yet but I am on the final stage of waiting for my clear coat to cure. After that I will proceed to final wet sanding stage of finishing.

1000 > 1200 > 1500 > 2000 > rubbing compound > polishing compound > wax > Mirror

For my stick I did something like this.

For all coats of paint I used standard spray cans.

Also another painting tip I stumbled upon is to let your spray can sit in a hot tap water bath for about 10 minutes before painting each time so that the paint comes out more smoothly and evenly. Also make sure that you spray into the air first before onto your box to avoid and odd paint spitting.

Read the care notes and method on the backs of your paints as well.

MDF
Wood filler on any low spots or holes
Sand 100
Sand 200
Sand 400
3 thin coats Primer

• Wait until dry - 2 hours
  • Wet Sand 400
    3 thin coats Primer
  • Wet Sand 400
    3 thin coats Primer
  • Wet Sand 400
    Gloss Black Laquer
  • 3 Light coats spaced 5 minutes apart
  • Wait 48 hours to dry
  • Wet Sand 600
    Gloss Black Laquer
  • Wait 48 hours to dry
  • Wet Sand 600
    Gloss Black Laquer
  • Wait 48 hours to dry
  • Wet Sand 600
    Oil Based Polyurethane Clear Coat
  • Wait 2 hours
  • 1 Light coat
  • Wait 3-5 days to cure