Keeping your cool during a match

I’ve been playing SF since 1991, and I’m not afraid to post here!!! :arazz:

Anyway… A lot of the time when fighting other people, I’ll lose my cool and do lots of stupid things that I wouldn’t normally do. Also, in training mode my execution is always flawless, but again when I go up against other people all that seems to just fall apart.

So I was just wondering, what can I do to just keep my cool during a fight and not get all flustered when something goes wrong? It’s really irritating that I fall apart under pressure.

Thank you.

If you truly have been playing Street Fighter since, 1991, then that problem should have been long past you. However, you best bets are too make sure you understand the game thoroughly, are comfortable pulling off combos and such that deviate from what you would do in practice. For example, you know how to do a FADC Ultra in practice mode, but would you be able to pull it off outside your “safe” realm, in a real match? Those things are key.

And at the very least, if you have been playing since the beginning, then just remember that YOU ARE A GROWN ASS MAN and probably could pound the snot out of most of the opponents that you would face. That should calm you down right there. Not trying to be anything but realistic. You have to be at least in your late twenties if you started with the World Warrior.

A little to Zen for some people, but I thought it was a great read.

I see what you’re saying Dash. That’s one of my problems, though. I go into a match with kind of an arrogant mindset, and that isn’t healthy at all lol. And yeah I’m 23 years old. It’s just that like whenever I start fighting, the nerves get to me and it’s always been that way no matter what, and I’m looking to finally overcome it.

edit: also thanks for that link del1rium. That was a very fantastic read. It’s all very true. Sometimes I’ll be super focused and completely pummel my opponents.