Ken vs ken matchups

ken

i recently played in a tourney where I had to fight a ken on par with my own. The rounds were close a majority of the time and I couldnt really take advantage of kens moves. Basically it went down to whoever fucked up the most lost that round. We both played ken sa3.

I know about low forward \ low rh reversals on block. That takes away some shoto ground lock but fighting in general was a little tough. I played solid as fuck and still had a hard time. Im fast enough to punish a wiffed low fwd or low rh but what do you do against someone who can play just as solid. I think i punished him once on a low fwd wiff and he never did it after that.

whats everyone doing for this matchup. If you rush down, you can easily be countered. If you turtle, you could be on the recieving end of a rush down.

halfy way through the matches I started playing at a fast slow pace if you can understand that. It worked fairly well but I dont know if he had a problem adjusting or if i just got lucky.

I thought about switching to kens sa2 which will do half life on any combo setup. I thought i could just build it up and hold onto it till he fucked up then bust him. If he wouldnt let me have an opening id just throw him till hed open up. It would also stop him from jumping in at me and I would probably have the air game on my side. Has anyone tried to switch up supers for this match up?

I play but Im nobody special I will add my two cents though.

I usually go with SAIII-Ken also so if I get a mirror match going I’ll see how solid they play. However the answer to your situation is context sensitive.

Lets say we’re doing a single match. I will go with SAIII because its basic default for me. Simply because I know how to use it effectively with my play style.