Kill All Humans: Guide a Beginner?

Hi guys, I wasn’t sure about making a thread, but the only related one I could find was;

and it doesn’t deal exactly with the issue I am having. My apologies if this thread is unwarranted.

I’m pretty new to fighting games, and just started playing MvC3 against other people online after feeling confident in ‘very hard’ arcade mode. I’d like to get some advice and discussion about how a player who is new to fighting real people, such as myself, can improve and what specific things they can look for.

Why a thread in the UMvC3 forum specifically? Because with this game in particular, if you do not have the tools to get space, or to close space as needed, your characters will likely be killed based on the outcomes of one to two crucial moments. For someone like me, who generally cannot recognise these moments, once things go badly, it feels like the game is lost immediately. So it’s that much more important for new MvC3 players to learn how to first see when these moments are, and work on making the most of their chances.

Execution:

This is something that was of immediate concern when learning to play against the AI, and while it’s something that I have not perfected by any means, it’s something that I feel comfortable practicing and improving slowly.

That said, specific tips on practice methods for execution, especially movement and spacing related execution would be much appreciated.

The Team:

Team synergy, and individual character strengths and weaknesses was one of the first things that I found interesting about MvC3, and I have a few teams that I am working on. Combos and resets are discussed in individual character forums, and aren’t central to the problem of fighting human opponents.

Defense: