King of fighters 98 tiers?

j/w can anyone give me a pretty official tier list in kof 98 ? looked all over the net, was hard to find anything. . .

and can you include when Extra mode or Advanced mode are better ? even though i know its pretty much always adv, just wanna see if there are a couple chars that can do good in Extra.

Can’t provide an official tier list, but characters that do good in Extra mode are ones which have useful air command moves, since those moves can then be used during a forward dash. Such characters are Kyo/Kusanagi, Mai, Athena (in some sense). Some throw characters can be good in Ex mode too.

98 tiers, were something like

daimon, o yash, ex terry, iori, a couple others

everybody else

All I remember was that Daimon and O.Yash were too good.

don’t forget chris and his foward+b of doom

What’s so amazing about his f+B? I think you meant df+B.

I have a master list of tiers (not including EXTRA)…gimme a day to find it.

…that went well.

Yeah, he probably meant Chris :df:+:snkb:. His J.:snkc:+:snkd: is also a bitch.

To add to the list, I think alt. Ryo is there at top tier, too. Arguably Extra mode Kyo (kinda hard).

Kof98 anti-airs have much much more priority. I really haven’t found his jump CD to be a problem in that game.

I just noticed the match vid Chris’s camping with that air move. LOL

But yeah, shoryukens in this game are too good. Kyo’s just outprioritizes pretty much anything.

**[KoF 98 tiers] **(taken from the latest Tougeki-Special Issue # 4)

A:

Kyo, Goro, Chizuru, Iori

B:

Benimaru, Robert, Ralf, Chang, Yashiro (Orochi), Chris, Chris (Orochi)

C:

Kyo (95) , Terry, Joe, Yashiro, Takuma

D:

Ryo, Clark, Kensou, Yamazaki, Mary, Mature

E:

Terry (Alt.) * , Ryo (Alt.) , Leona, Athena, Chin, Mai , Mai (Alt.) , King, Choi, Kim, Shermie, Vice, Shingo, Saishu

F:

Robert (Alt.) , Yuri, Heavy D

G:

Andy, Yuri (Alt.) , Billy, Heidern, Brian, Rugal

H:

Andy (Alt.) , Joe (Alt.) , Billy (Alt.) , Shermie (Orochi), Lucky