Learning to block (defend)

This must look like the dumbest question, since it is such a fundemental part of a fighting game. but what are proper ways to learn to block? it seems I have the hardest time blocking even simpel moves. I am pretty new to fighting games and I am conccentrating so much on getting the exectuions right that I get lazy at blocking or I am just to slow.

Is there a good way to learn this in training mode or are there some good basic tips how to block?

I play with cammy on a fighting stick.

why not just play online and only block? or only block/react?

You hold back for medium and high attacks, ie stomach and head level. As well as overheads, attacks that go over head like Akumas chop or Vipers elbow. You do this for jumping attacks as well. You block low attacks with down back, you can do this for medium attacks and high attacks will usually be ducked. Don’t block jumping attacks low, cause you’ll get hit.

As a practice you could record Viper jumping in at you with roundhouse, then doing low medium kick and then her over head, which is f.mp. So thats j.rh, c.mk, f.mp. This way you’ll learn appropiate situations for when to block normals. Then you can move onto specials and ultras, etc. The amount of people who don’t know you block Vipers ultra low… >_>

Go into training mode, put the opponent on AI at max level, and just block/tech everything. See how long you can go without getting hit/thrown.

Or just play the game, the more you do the more used to it you will become.

I would go to practice mode, set the dummy to CPU and set it to max difficulty and just block everything the opponent throws at you. It’s random, it’s uncoordinated, it might be very off as to how a human opponent do… but the main point is that it’s random and being able to block stuff on reaction is going to help you.

Though, when it comes to human opponents and predicting, that’s just something you’re going to pick up as you keep playing.