Losing to random Ultras

So I just started playing SSF4 online today after getting an xbox. I’ve been playing the game for about a year casually with my friend before I got it, but I keep losing against people I feel like I know I can beat.

I main Sak and the sheer wall of Kens and Ryus that I’m hitting is getting me down.
My main problem seems to be that I get caught against a freakin TON of random special moves that tear me apart - including supers and ultras.

I know I could play the patient game and try to outplay them on their own terms - but the whole point of playing Sakura, so far I understand - is the amount of options she gives but if I am going to take them away to win against random player don’t I just play Ryu and have done with it? :rolleyes:

No matter what character you play you are going to have to learn to block stuff like that. If someone is throwing random moves just use them as combo practice. Bait unsafe moves and punish them with your best combo every time. Don’t stop until they die. Against players at that level you don’t need any more advanced strategies than that.

Every character has to block, and if your opponent continually does unsafe moves over and over, why not just block and punish? Who cares about your characters options if your opponent is just giving you opportunities to punish them?

Blocking and punishing is easy enough when I’ve trained the opponent into spamming the uppercuts, but the reason I’m so frustrated is that a 3500 BP Ryu still loves to bust out the Metsu Shoryu on wakeup at any point after he’s got it. The option I’m faced with is to hope he doesn’t wakeup ultra me on a mixup - or to empty jump into block on untechable knockdowns. :\

I meant to add in that the random moves are not consistent at all - it would be easy pickings if it was constant.