Madcatz PS3 controller hack

I’ll preface by saying I’m a recent CompE graduate from Purdue so this should be well within my abilities.

I’m trying to build my own hitbox and have a few questions and need some advice. I did my best to search and look through FAQs so I’m hoping I’m not spamming the forum up/ignoring rules.

1. Is the Madcatz PS3 as simple as the 360 to solder to? I’ve looked through threads and only seen the 360 version.

2. If I want to dual mod (PS3 + Xbox) with say a chimpboard? later on, do I have to start with a Xbox360 controller?

3. I’m a computer engineer not an electrical engineer; however, for the first 2 years of college the 2 curriculums were nearly mirrored. Is there a type of Solder I should be using? A temperature range? I’ve had some failed attempts with a a six-axis when it comes to hitting the smaller spots on the actual PCB.

4. Is the lag of a wireless controller but plugged in the same as a non-wireless controller?

Thanks in advance all.

-If you are going to use a CHIMP on a dual mod there is no need for the PS3 controller. the Chimp will run the PS3 and you will simply have to solder the 360 pad to it for dual mod.
-Sounds like you are set on using the PS3 controller you can use an IMP to solder connections for the 360 pcb to get a dual mod function. It is a bit cheaper than the Chimp and just as simple.
-I have never used a PS3 controller for dual mod but reading through some threads before I know that it is common ground and you shouldnt have a problem with the dual mod.
-Many here suggest regular rosin core solder for these. the lead free has a diffrent melting point and may cause problems? I dont care to really know the diffrence but regular rosin core 60/40 is suggestion of many.