Maintaining skill level over multiple games?

Sorry if this has been discussed before in another thread (I searched, found nothing).

Does anyone else have a problem maintaining their skills when playing more than one game at a time? I first found this out when I started learning Third Strike a few years ago, when I tried playing Guilty Gear X2#R (my first serious fighting game) again, I had found that my skills had deteriorated greatly. It was an okay sacrifice in my eyes though, since I was really loving 3S at the time.

I’m having the same problem now with Street Fighter IV. I’ve played nothing but IV for the last week or so now (>5 hours/day), and my years worth of 3S skills has gone down tremendously. I know that if I just get back into it again for a while, it’ll all come back, but the next thing you know my SFIV skills will be back to garbage. :arazz:

How can I overcome this problem, and does anyone else have these issues as well? Thanks!

What I do is pick similar characters in each game such as Remy, Guile, and DeeJay, or Yang, and Freemen, etc… Or you can pick the highest tier characters, and roll with them.

werd

It’s like riding a bicycle, you never truly forget.Sure, you might pick up the controller and be lost for a bit, but if you hit up training mode or play a few casuals I’m sure it’d all come back to you.

I have this issue all the time, I play a game, get somewhat decent, get bored, play another game, pick up the first game weeks or months later and have to play it for a few hours again before I get back in the groove.

when your natural at fighting games, you never forget like me, I can pick up any fighting game no problems:nunchuck::cool::woot:

I had a friend who always complained to me that he kept getting worse as time passed by I never really understood and though he was joking but it seems more dudes are having this problem interesting.